Gun-Sik Park

Gun-Sik Park received the Ph.D. degree in physics from the University of Maryland, College Park, MD, USA, in 1989.

From 1989 to 1995, he was a Research Scientist at Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, DC as an on-site contractor from Omega-P, Inc. Since 1995, he has been a Professor in the Department of Physics Education and Department of Physics and Astronomy, Seoul National University(SNU) and he became Professor Emeritus in 2021. Currently he is a Director of Center for THz-driven Biological Systems in SNU which is sponsored by National Research Foundation and Ministry of Science and ICT of Korea. He is also a Honorary Professor of Samarkand State University in Uzbekistan since 2020.

From 2011 to 2015, he served as Director of National Center for Inter-University Research Facilities, SNU. From 2009 to 2016, he served as Director of Center for THz-Bio Application Systems, SNU. He is a founding CEO of Seoul-Teracom, Inc. His research interests include vacuum electronics sources of coherent electromagnetic radiation from RF to THz waves, and their applications to biological systems. His recent research activities include microfabricated millimeter-wave and THz sources, high-power microwaves(HPM), field emission cathode such as graphene, Fano metamaterials, ultrafast phenomena of ice water driven by THz/IR pump, probed by electron and X-ray(XFEL) diffractions, nanoconfined water, membrane permeation and poration, noninvasive THz/IR excitation of neuron, skin and other biological systems.

Prof. Park served as vice-Chair and Chair of International Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves from 2011-2014 and 2014-2017, respectively. He is a founding chair of International Workshop on THz-Bio from 2009-2015. He also served as conference chair for IVEC2003 in Seoul and IVEC2019 in Busan. He also hosted International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter and Terahertz Waves, Busan in 2009 as a conference chair. He is a Senior Member of IEEE since 2020. He serves as a committee chair of Basic Research Promotion Initiative Committee under National Science and Technology Advisory Committee of Korea since 2020. He received Minister Award by Ministry of Science and ICT of Korea in 2015 and 2020. He was a winner of ESA Award by International Society of Infrared, Millimeter and Terahertz Waves in 2020. He is a recipient of the IEEE John R. Pierce award for excellence in vacuum electronics (2021).

John R. pierce Award for Excellence in Vacuum Electronics 2021

For outstanding technical contributions and leadership in the field of vacuum electronics and for his continuous efforts in education and industrial applications.