Jirun Luo

Professor Luo was born in Pingxiang, Jiangxi Province, China in 1957. He received the B.Sc. degree in radio physics from Jiangxi University (now Nanchang University), Nanchang, China, in 1982, and the M. Eng. and Ph. D. degrees in electron physics from the Institute of Electronics, Chinese Academy of Sciences (IECAS), Beijing, China, in 1985 and 2000, respectively. He joined the High Power Microwave Devices Laboratory, IECAS in 1985.

From 1985 to 1993, he was involved in theoretical and experimental research on gyrotron oscillators, solid-state microwave power amplifiers, and microwave energy applications in ceramic material sintering and crude oil dehydration.
He became a Senior Engineer, a Research Professor with IECAS, and a Professor with University of Chinese Academy of Sciences respectively in 1993, 1998, and 2002.

From December 2002 to November 2003, he was with the Institute for Pulsed Power and Microwave Technology, Research Center Karlsruhe (now KIT), Karlsruhe, Germany, where he performed the theoretical model and experimental verification of the microwave heating process of powdered metals.
In December 2003, he returned to IECAS. From 1994 to 2003, his research activities mainly included high-power klystron development and millimeter-wave materials processing.

From 2004 to 2017, he was devoted to the research and development of vacuum microwave electron devices, especially for multimode steady state gyro-amplifier theories and experiments, Sheet beam TWT theory and simulations, multiplying gyro-amplifier investigation and double slots coupled cavity TWT theory and experiments.

As a professor, he ever taught “Foundations for Microwave Engineering” course on spring semester from 2004 to 2015 and has been teaching “Microwave electronics” course on autumn semester from 2015- for the graduate students in the University of Chinese Academy of Sciences.
He has authored/coauthored over 200 research papers in scientific journals and conference proceedings. His current research projects are the development of high-power gyro-oscillators, sheet beam TWT and klystrons.
On January 1, 2020, Institute of Electronics, Institute of Remote Sensing and Digital Earth and Academy of Opto-Electronics, three institutions from Chinese Academy of Sciences, has been emerged into Aerospace Information Research Institute (AIRCAS).